Incorporating the 5 Love Languages into my Self-Care Routine.

Whenever I hear people have conversations about love languages, it’s usually in a romantic context, but I think that introducing love languages into a self-love context can be beneficial. 

If you type in your google search “love languages”, the 5 love languages popularized by marriage counselor Dr. Gary Chapman in his book, The 5 Love Languages, will likely come up. 

Quality time, words of affirmation, acts of service, physical touch, and receiving gifts are the 5 languages highlighted in the book. Although I never read the book, I read articles and took quizzes to see what my percentages were in these categories.

After learning my primary love language and the subsequent ones, I restructured my self-care routine to fit my dominant love languages:  

Quality Time (37%)

My primary love language is quality time. I didn’t have to change too much here considering I voluntarily spend tons of time by myself already, but I added more structure when it comes to scheduling specific times everyday to ensure I don’t skip out on quality time with myself. 

One thing I did have to adapt to with this new practice is turning off my phone during quality time with myself. I strongly dislike when other people are on their phones when we’re out having fun so why would I treat myself that way? 

So no phones, no technology, no distractions during scheduled “me-time”. 

Words of Affirmation (33%)

I never considered the importance of self-talk until this past year and seeing that words of affirmation is part of my love language, I incorporated it by adding meditation to my routine. 

During my meditation routine, I start the practice with words of affirmation: “I am beautiful”, “I am capable”, “I am worthy”, “I am kind”, etc.

I’ve noticed significant changes in my mood since adding this into my routine. 

Acts of Service (17%) 

I fulfill this love language in a variety of ways in my self-care routine. Sometimes I take the time to cook my favorite breakfast or take the time to clean my space (knowing that my future self will thank me). Any act I do for myself in the present is for the well-being of my future self. 

Receiving Gifts (10%)

Since this isn’t at the top of my love languages, I don’t stress myself out with catering to it, but when I do I make sure it’s done intentionally. 

Physical Touch (3%)

My favorite way to give attention to this love language is through yoga. Yoga is a great way to tune into the body and inner self. It helps me get grounded, relaxed and energized all at the same time. 

Even though I’m not in a romantic relationship at the moment, I think knowing my love language(s) can serve as a helpful tool to become more self-aware and care for myself more efficiently. 

If this inspired you to start incorporating your love language(s) into your self-care routine, let me know down below in the comments!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s